EnglishFrenchPortuguese
 
 
 

WEBINAR

Building public-private partnerships to accelerate access to clean cooking technologies in informal settlements in Africa

Globally, the number of people without access to electricity and access to clean cooking fuels and technologies is reducing; yet, the case is different in Sub-Saharan Africa (SSA), where the number of people without access is rather increasing. Three out of four people (569 million people) without access to electricity are from SSA. Further, 923 million people in SSA do not have access to clean cooking, with 19 of the 20 countries with the lowest percentages of the population having access to clean cooking globally being from SSA. This poor access to sustainable energy has led to a myriad of health, environmental, social and economic detrimental impacts. As per the Tracking SDG 7 Energy Progress Report, 2022, if universal access to clean cooking is not achieved, the cost of inaction, driven by negative externalities on health, gender and climate, is estimated at USD 2.4 trillion a year.

The urban population in Africa is expected to triple to 1.5 billion between 2015 and 2050. Africa, particularly SSA, is however urbanising at lower GDP per capita levels compared to other world regions with up to 60% of urban dwellers in Africa living in informal settlements. Access to affordable, clean energy is amongst the many challenges faced by these increasing African informal settlements.

 

While local and national governments have a mandate of improving sustainable energy access for their citizens, the private sector has the potential to play a pivotal role in supporting local and national governments in delivering their mandates as it relates to improving energy access that leads to job creation, poverty alleviation, and improved well-being of urban dwellers.

Join ICLEI Africa and Energy 4 Impact for a webinar with leaders from local governments and experts to share lessons learnt through the Enabling African Cities for Transformative Energy Access (ENACT) project, and discuss possibilities of improving end-user financing and ways in which the private sector can work with national and local governments to improve access to affordable and sustainable clean cooking solutions for the urban poor living and working in African urban informal settlements.

22 September 2022, 10:00 – 12:00 GMT (Freetown) | 11:00 – 13:00 BST | 12:00 – 14:00 SAST | 13:00 – 15:00 EAT

Follow us on LinkedIn and Twitter over the next few weeks for more details about the event.