chevron_left Back to Members

Mangaung Metropolitan Municipality

South Africa

top right mosaic bottom left mosaic

Member summary

Mangaung Metropolitan Municipality, located in the heart of South Africa’s Free State Province, is a dynamic and significant region known for its historical and administrative importance. The municipality, which includes Bloemfontein, Botshabelo, and Thaba Nchu, was established as an autonomous metropolitan area in 2011. It is home to approximately 850,000 residents and is characterised by a diverse linguistic and cultural landscape, with Sesotho, Afrikaans, English, and Setswana being the predominant languages spoken.

Mangaung, meaning “Place of the Cheetah” in Sesotho, reflects the area’s vibrant and energetic character. It serves as the judicial capital of South Africa, housing the Supreme Court of Appeal. This underscores its critical role in the country’s legal framework. The municipality also strives to integrate its urban and rural communities, promoting spatial equity and inclusive development initiatives.

As a growing urban centre, Mangaung is actively involved in sustainable development projects aimed at improving infrastructure, enhancing public services, and fostering economic growth. It offers a blend of rich cultural heritage and modern amenities, making it a focal point for both residents and visitors.

For more detailed information, you can visit the official Mangaung Metropolitan Municipality website here.

Image: Bloemfontein, Mangaung Metropolitan Municipality, South Africa  © South African Tourism [CC BY] via Wiki Commons


Member since: