chevron_left Back to News updates
15 June 2017

Mayors from Capital Cities in Africa acknowledge the importance of local action, leadership and collaborative efforts for sustainability

top right mosaic bottom left mosaic
Mayors from 29 capital cities in Africa, gathered at the African Capital Cities Sustainability Forum (ACCSF), have declared, through the African Capital Cities Sustainability Forum Tshwane Declaration, that collective commitment to advance sustainability within the African continent through ground-breaking initiatives is essential.

The Mayors agreed to explore the establishment of a formalised forum for Africa’s Capital Cities, evolving from the current ACCSF platform, which has met annually over the least three years in the City of Tshwane. This Forum will now be properly constitutionalised and governed by these leading cities, and supported by a dedicated, permanent Secretariat. They have committed to endeavour to continue to meet annually and assess and share their individual and collective progress on a regular, ongoing basis on an ambitious path towards urban sustainability.

African Capital Cities Sustainability Forum 2017 has been the best yet with 32 African Capital Cities in attendance. The group has worked tirelessly over the past three days to reach consensus on a clear direction for the leadership network and its goal of advancing sustainability in African cities, culminating in the formulation and signing the ACCSF 2017 Tshwane Declaration. The real work starts now as the City of Tshwane, mandated by the network, sets about formalizing a secretariat that will provide an ongoing platform for the network to continue sharing ideas, experiences and solutions as we work together towards African Capital Cities Sustainability Forum 2018.
- Solly Msimanga, Executive Mayor of the City of Tshwane

Botswana, Gaborone
Burkina Faso, Ouagadougou
Burundi, Bujumbura
Central African Republic, Bangui
Chad, N’Djamena
Comoros, Moroni
Gabon, Akanda
Gabon, Libreville
Gambia, Banjul
Ghana, Accra
Guinea-Bissau, Bissau
Kenya, Nairobi
Liberia, Monrovia
Madagascar, Antananarivo

Malawi, Lilongwe
Mauritania, Nouakchott
Morocco, Rabat
Namibia, Windhoek
Niger, Niamey
Nigeria, Abuja
Sahwari, Bir Lahlou
São Tomé & Principé, São Tomé
Senegal, Dakar
Seychelles, Victoria
South Africa, Tshwane
South Sudan, Juba
Swaziland, Mbabane
Togo, Lomé
Uganda, Kampala

Download the English Declaration here and the French Declaration here.

Share on social: